New sci-fi and science reads for September 2022

September is a selection box of treats for sci-fi and science fans, with fantastic fiction, thought-provoking environmental science releases, and not forgetting the return of a certain Mr. deGrasse Tyson. Let’s dive in!


The Skeptics’ Guide to the Future: What Yesterday’s Science and Science Fiction Tell Us About the World of the Future by Steven Novella, Jay Novella, Bob Novella
It’s always fun to take predictions from the past and see which came true and especially which didn’t. The hosts of award-winning podcast The Skeptics’ Guide to the Universe do just that, applying rigorous scientific analysis to predictions from decades past, using them as a starting point for their own vision of the future and potential technological developments ahead.


Lost in Time by A.G. Riddle
When a scientist confesses to murder to protect his daughter, his punishment is being sent 200 million years into the past. She, however, refuses to accept this and sets out on a mission to recover her father and prove his innocence. A fast-paced time travel murder mystery with plenty of twists to keep you on the edge of your seat! One to recommend to fans of Andy Weir.


Starry Messenger: Cosmic Perspectives on Civilization by Neil deGrasse Tyson
Everyone’s favorite science communicator broadens his perspective from purely astrophysics to offer insights on a multitude of topics all viewed through a scientific, and rational lens. Each chapter takes a different theme such as politics, war, or religion, and is related with his trademark objectivity, warmth, and humor. Nothing less than an essential read.



The Thousand Earths by Stephen Baxter
A tale of two characters: one at the beginning of a five-million-year space mission to help humanity, and the other whose world is close to destruction from erosion and dwindling resources. This promises to be a thoughtful and captivating read from one of today’s best hard sci-fi authors.


Volt Rush: The Winners and Losers in the Race to Go Green by Henry Sanderson
As someone who lives in a geographical area with its fair share of rare earth metals, I’m particularly interested in this topic. This is an excellent analysis of why battery-powered EVs are not the panacea many politicians and business people are proclaiming them to be. Sanderson covers the environmental impact of the manufacturing process as well as the human cost in terms of outsourcing and worker exploitation. Bring on hydrogen power!


Imperium Restored by Walter Jon Williams
It’s time for some fast-paced military sci-fi/space opera in this, the third of the Praxis trilogy, the second trilogy in Williams’ Dread Empires Fall universe. Fans will be excited to see how the relationship between main characters Martinez and Sula plays out alongside the action. If you’re new to the series, start with The Praxis.


The Future Is Now: Solving the Climate Crisis with Today’s Technologies by Bob McDonald
Covid demonstrated how mass changes in behavior can benefit our environment. Bob McDonald, familiar to listeners of the CBC’s Quirks and Quarks, takes this as his starting point to explore the positive steps we can take right now to tackle climate change using our existing technologies. An optimistic and accessible read for anyone wanting to get up to speed on this important topic.


Redspace Rising by Brian Trent
Readers of short sci-fi may be familiar with Trent from his regular appearances in Analog and S&SF. Here, he brings us a far future mystery set on Mars where a ruthless soldier wakes in a new body. This action-packed tale should appeal to fans of Altered Carbon and Old Man’s War.


The Biggest Ideas in the Universe: Space, Time, and Motion by Sean Carroll
To understand physics, we need to know math, and thankfully we have theoretical physicist Sean Carroll to help us try and understand the baffling equations on which modern-day physics is based. An accessible and helpful read both for students and anyone with a general interest in physics as we seek to better understand the workings of our universe.


That’s all for now. Wishing you a warm and safe September. Happy Reading!

Need to catch up?
New reads for summer
New reads for April






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Newsletter

Subscribe

* indicates required

My Books